And the cows came in

Let it be, let it be, let it beee, let it be, whisper words of wisdom, let it be. I was sitting out on the steppe smoking Benson and Hedges as the sun went down. There were people all around me, talking to each other, sitting, standing, squatting in the sage and thistle. The grasses were all light green, reflecting the sun rays sprinkling through the clouds. I sat watching them. Breathing in, blowing out, thinking about nothing. The beatles played on my phone, and we all waited for the cows to come in.

 

My run today was long and steady, sweating a little, just perfect actually, under a hot sun and cool sky. I came back just in time for lunch and went back for seconds and thirds and a loaf of bread because I know that’s all the food prepared for the day. I could taste the sage brush in the butter. Filling yourself past capacity does not work. I’m hungry again now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And the cows came in

  1. Mary McCrossan says:

    Thanks for the pictures, they’re fabulous!

Leave a Reply

